The Forbidden Library Review ´ PDF DOC TXT or eBook

Review ´ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ï Django Wexler

He day she met her first fairyWhen Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off limits to Alice But then she meets a talking cat And even for a rule follower when a talking cat. Another of those young adult books which is totally readable by not so young adults like me The Forbidden Library is full of magic and books talking cats and dragons and people who can read themselves into books Slightly reminiscent of Jasper Fforde but in this case the main character Alice is not in control of where she is going and the results are freuently scaryI enjoyed the whole thing very much indeed and it was further complemented by some delightful illustrations Finally I discovered that it is the first book in a five part series Wonderful

Summary The Forbidden Library

The Forbidden LibrarySneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book it's hard to resist Especially if you're a reader to begin with Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned withinIt seems her uncle is than he says he is But then so is Alice. I read Wexler's previous book The Thousand Names and liked it well enough that I picked this up even though I saw that it was aimed at a younger audience I didn't expect to like it uite as much due to that factI needn't have worried I loved this book It may seem like an exaggeration but with 'The Forbidden Library' Wexler slips under Diana Wynne Jones' mantle and is fully worthy of it Now if only Miyazaki would option this story as he did Wynne Jones' 'Howl's Moving Castle' and animate the Swarm The ultimate cuteness would be completeJust on the face of it I have to admit it would be difficult to see how I could dislike this book It's got all the good stuff I could not conceivably say no to a secret library full of eerie dangers books that are portals to other worlds and magical cats with attitude Plus it's got an ingenious heroine a roguishly handsome wizards' apprentice nasty fairies and a dragon Not enough There's tooAnd there is clearly going to be even because although there are plenty of adventures here the main mystery remains unsolved pending publication of a seuel which I'll be readingThanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review this book

Django Wexler Ï 0 Download

The Forbidden Library Review ´ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook ✓ The Forbidden Library kicks off an action packed  fantasy series with classic appeal a resourceful heroine a host of magical creatures and no shortage of narrow escapes perfect for fans of Story Thieves  Coraline Inkheart and Harry Potter Alice always thought fairy talThe Forbidden Library kicks off an action packed  fantasy series with classic appeal a resourceful heroine a host of magical creatures and no shortage of narrow escapes perfect for fans of Story Thieves  Coraline Inkheart and Harry Potter Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings That along with everything else changed t. My uick reviewDjango Wexler is a friend I checked out The Forbidden Library as an audio book from my very unforbidden local library Midway through reading this Django suggested we get together for coffee I told him that all depended on how The Forbidden Library ended That our friendship hung in the balanceYes We are still friends We will go out for coffeeI found something in this book that has been missing in a lot of fantasy books I've read lately A sense of wonder The protagonist is plucky in the best sense of that little used word She solves things herself She dares She thinks on her feet and comes up with surprising solutions While written for kids I think there is a lot here for any fantasy reader to enjoyThe audio book narrator does an excellent job with pacing and with the 'voices' of the charactersThis would be a great audio book for families who have long school commutes or a long drive coming up Very listenable